Awards Programs

Think Global, Act Local. Preeminent national awards programs recognising Australian achievements in areas of the environment, social justice and media excellence.

Finalists of the 2016 World Environment Day Awards have been announced!


View the Media Release here. 

Winners will be announced at the Awards Presentation Dinner, to be held on Monday June 6 at ZINC, Federation Square Melbourne. Book tickets to the Dinner here

2016 Finalists:

Clean Energy Award (sponsored by the Department of Economic Development, Jobs, Transport and Resources)

  • FINALIST: Moreland Energy Foundation, Positive Charge (VIC)
  • FINALIST: Alternative Technology Association (ATA), Village Lighting Scheme, East Timor (VIC)
  • FINALIST: CORENA – Citizens Own Renewable Energy Network Australia Inc, Quick Win community solar and energy efficiency revolving fund (SA)
  • FINALIST: Clean Energy for Eternity – Northern Beaches Chapter, ClearSky Solar Investments – making solar investment easy and accessible (NSW)

Wetland and Wildlife Creations P/L Biodiversity Award 

  • FINALIST: Carbon Neutral, Yarra Yarra Biodiversity Project (WA)
  • FINALIST: Big Scrub Landcare, Lowland Rainforest Restoration Program (NSW)
  • FINALIST: South West Natural Resource Management, Biodiversity Conservation on Mt Tabor (QLD)

Business Award (sponsored by the Carbon Reduction Institute)

  • FINALIST: Tassal Operations Pty Ltd, Sustainability – It’s How We Do Business (TAS)
  • FINALIST: Telstra Corporation Limited, Telstra Environment Strategy & Telstra eCycle Service (NSW)
  • FINALIST: Norman Disney & Young, Sustainability (VIC)
  • FINALIST: Natura Pacific (QLD)

Community Award

  • FINALIST: Y Water Centre Association Inc, Y Water Discovery Centre (VIC)
  • FINALIST: Bookend Trust, Sixteen Legs (TAS)
  • FINALIST: Kimberley Toad Busters Inc, 10 years of community effort fighting an alien invasion (WA)
  • FINALIST: Port Phillip EcoCentre, Well Waters: Elster Creek Pilot (VIC)

Environmental Education Award

  • FINALIST: KU Ourimbah Preschool and Children’s Centre (NSW)
  • FINALIST: Willetton Senior High School, Marine Environment Education (WA)
  • FINALIST: St Louis De Montforts Aspendale, Reaching Out (VIC)

Environmental School Award

  • FINALIST: Woori Yallock Farm School, Certificates in Conservation and Land Management (VIC)
  • FINALIST: St Louis De Montforts Aspendale, From Little Things Big Things Grow (VIC)

Excellence in Water Management Award

  • FINALIST: Department of Environment, Water and Natural Resources, Weir pool manipulation in the South Australian River Murray (SA)
  • FINALIST: Moonee Valley City Council, Napier Park Revitalisation Project (VIC)
  • FINALIST: Department of Environment, Water and Natural Resources and the South East Natural Resources Management Board, Accounting for and managing the water resource impacts of plantation forestry in the Lower Limestone Coast Region of SA (SA)

Individual Award 

  • FINALIST: Gio Fitzpatrick, Youth Wildlife Ambassador (VIC)
  • FINALIST: Clare D’Souza, Sustainability for scholarly work (VIC)

Infrastructure Innovation Award

  • FINALIST: Phillip Island Nature Park, Penguin Plus Viewing Experience (VIC)
  • FINALIST: RMIT University, Sustainable Urban Precincts Program (VIC)

Local Government Award

  • FINALIST: Fairfield City Council, Fairfield City Council’s Sustainable Resource Centre (NSW)
  • FINALIST: City of Boroondara, Biodiversity Monitoring in Melbourne’s East (VIC)
  • FINALIST: Sunshine Coast Council, Kids in Action (Qld)
  • FINALIST: Wodonga Council, Launching a 3-bin food and garden waste collection system collaboratively (NSW)

Media Award for Environmental Reporting

  • FINALIST: Jane Bardon, Pushing to avert disaster at the NT’s MacArthur River Mine (NT)
  • FINALIST: Stefan Armbruster, SBS World News, Solomon Islands ‘disaster’ gold mine (QLD)
  • FINALIST: Adam Morton, Penny Stephens and Marija Ercegovac, The Age, The Vanishing Island (VIC)
  • FINALIST: Peter Hannam, A year of environmental hope and dismay (NSW)

Organisation Leadership Award

  • FINALIST: De Bortoli Wines, The journey to becoming the zero waste winery (NSW)
  • FINALIST: Bega Cheese Limited, BEMS and the Milk Sustainability Growth program (NSW)
  • FINALIST: ClimateWorks Australia, Pathways to Deep Decarbonisation in 2050: How Australia can prosper in a low carbon world (VIC)
  • FINALIST: Australia Dairy Industry Council, Australia Dairy Industry Sustainability Framework (VIC)
  • FINALIST: Keep Australia Beautiful National Association, 48 Years of the Sustainable Communities Awards Program (NSW)


Previous winners and finalists

For a full list of winners and finalists from 2000 to 2015 click here (PDF Document).

For more information about winners and finalists, please contact UNAA Victoria on 03 9620 3955 or via email.