Awards Programs

Think Global, Act Local. Preeminent national awards programs recognising Australian achievements in areas of the environment, social justice and media excellence.

Entries for the 2016 Media Peace Awards are now open! Entries close Friday September 2, 2016 at 5pm. 

Click here for award category criteria and entry information.

Winners of the 2015 Media Peace Awards were announced at the Awards Presentation Dinner,  held on Friday October 23 at the Pavilion, Arts Centre Melbourne.

View the Winners Announced Media Release HERE


Print – News
WINNER            Michael McKenna and Paige Taylor, The Australian - Miss Dhu
SPECIAL COMMENDATION      Ben Doherty and Sarah Malik, The Guardian Australia - The Extaordinary Detention of Sayed Abdellatif
FINALIST          Paul Farrell, The Guardian Australia - Australia's Asylum Seeker Policies Investigation

Print – Feature

WINNER          Michael Bachelard, Fairfax Media - High Tension
FINALIST         Martin McKenzie-Murray, The Saturday Paper - Nauru Rapes: "There is a war on women"
FINALIST         Ruth Pollard, Fairfax Media - The Rojava Revolution

TV – News and Current Affairs
WINNER           Norman Hermant, ABC - Consumer Directed Care
FINALIST         Jane Bardon and Franco Pistillo, ABC News and Current Affairs Darwin - Detainees drive to suicide and self harm in immigration detention
FINALIST          Kathy McLeish, Heidi Rexa, Michael McKinnon, ABC - Barrett Centre Closure
FINALIST          Waleed Aly, Tom Whitty and KB Barker, The Project - Editorials

TV – Documentary
WINNER          Sophia Turkiewicz, Rod Freedman, Change Focus Media - Once My Mother
FINALIST          Peter Djigirr, David Gulpilil, Molly Reynolds - Another Country
FINALIST          Alex de Jong, Bernadine Lim, Meggi Palmer, Ben Foley, David Potts and Micah McGown, SBS Dateline - Shades of Bad?
FINALIST          Harry Bardwell, Kelrick Martin, SBS - Prison Songs

Radio – News
WINNER           Kristina Kukolja and Lindsey Arkley, SBS - Snedden extradition case tests Australia's war crimes resolve
FINALIST          Nour Haydar, 2SER 107.3 - Brothers in Faith, Equals in Humanity
FINALIST          Sally Sara, ABC - The Return
FINALIST          Bridget Brennan, ABC Radio Current Affairs - Drug-addiced parents struggle to access rehabilitation

Radio – Documentary
WINNER          Kirsti Melville, David Le May, 360documentaries and ABC RN - The Storm
FINALIST          Sarah Dingle, ABC Radio National - Radicalisation, deradicalisation and the 'sweet-talkers' for IS
FINALIST          Sharon Davis, Steven Tilley, Earshot ABC RN - Inside the NSW Drug Court series
FINALIST          Claudia Taranto, Laurence Grissell, Steven Tilley and Tiger Webb, ABC RN - Workers without borders series

WINNER           Edwina Pickles, Fairfax Media - Inside the World's Largest Refugee Camp
FINALIST         Ingetje Tadros - Kennedy Hill
FINALIST         Chris Hopkins, Fairfax Media - Trauma

WINNER           Mark Eland, Stewart Heckenberg, Molly Reynolds - Still Our Country
SPECIAL COMMENDATION   Matt Huyn, Matt Smith, Kylie Boltin, Nam Le, SBS - The Boat
FINALIST          Eleanor Bell, Will Fitzgibbon, Chris Zubak Skees, International Consortium of Investigative Journalists and Centre for Public Integrity - Fatal Extraction


Promotion of Indigenous Recognition
WINNER          Jade Rose, Matt Dwyer and Paul Sinclair, Mirri Mirri Productions - Big Boss: Last Leader of the Crocodile Islands
FINALIST         Lois Kay Cook, Aboriginal Cultural Concepts and Catherine Marciniak, ABC Open - Babe in the reeds: A story of massacres and resilience
FINALIST         Steve Kinnane, Judy Harrison, Isabelle Reinecke, Griffith Review - Finger Money: The black and white of stolen wages
FINALIST         Paul Daley, The Guardian Australia - Understanding Aboriginal Australia through history and culture

Promotion of Positive Images of the Older Person
WINNER          Archer Magazine - Issue Four
FINALIST         Dr Maggie Haertsch and Simon Cunich, Arts Health Institute - Eileen Kramer
FINALIST         Monique Schafter, 7:30 ABC TV - Parkinson's Patients Punch Their Way to Improvement

Promotion of Women’s Rights and Issues
WINNER           Michelle Aleksandrovics Lovegrove and Minelle Creed, SBS Radio - Breaking community silence on violence against Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander women
FINALIST          Ginger Gorman, - The terrible injury often overlooked in domestic violence
FINALIST          Jenny Brockie, Kyle Taylor, Amanda Xiberras, Insight SBS - Sexual Harrassment 

Promotion of Children’s Rights and Issues
WINNER          Jenny Brockie, Kyle Taylor, Alix Piatek, Insight SBS - Holroyd High
FINALIST          Erin O'Dwyer, Marie Claire - What do you do?
FINALIST          Adam Morton, The Sunday Age - Locked in Limbo
FINALIST          Matt Wade, Sydney Morning Herald - Girl mothers and famine survivors: inside the world's biggest refugee camp
FINALIST          Kathy McLeish, Heidi Rexa, Michael McKinnon, ABC - Barrett Centre Closure

Promotion of Multicultural Issues
WINNER          Jenny Brockie, Kyle Taylor, Alix Piatek, Insight SBS - Holroyd High                                                  
FINALIST          Ges D'Souza and Tim Wilson, ABC TV - Just Call Jamal
FINALIST          Michael Bradley, The Drum - Collection of Articles
FINALIST          Sarah Dingle, ABC Radio National - Radicalisation, deradicalisation and the 'sweet-talkers' for IS

Promotion of Climate Change Issues
WINNER          Waleed Aly and Tom Whitty, The Project - Renewable Energy Target                                               
SPECIAL COMMENDATION    Adam Morton, The Sunday Age - The Road to Paris
FINALIST          Eric Campbell, Brietta Hague, David Martin, Scott Monro, ABC - Southern Exposure

Promotion of Disability Rights and Issues
WINNER          Amelia Paxman, Sally Wortley, Veronica Fury, Wildbear Entertainment - Crack Up                                             
FINALIST        Rachel Carbonell, Chris Bullock, Leila Shunnar, ABC Radio National - Stuck in God's Waiting Room
FINALIST        Jeannette Francis, SBS The Feed - Spectrum of Hope




UNAA Media Awards Winners 2015 from UNAA Victoria on Vimeo.



For a list of previous winners and finalists from 2000 to 2014 click here (PDF Document)

For information about winners and finalists from previous years, please contact the UNAA Victoria on (03) 9620 3955 or via email.